Hafa Adai, World!

So I know I’ve been a bit late on getting this blog started, but let’s be honest. I was either in an airport or on a plane for 20 hours. I deserve some slack. Since I know everyone is so anxious to read about my new life on Guam, I’m hoping to be able to get up at least a post or two a week depending on the week’s “awesome rating.” Finally, much like my first experience driving on Guam (foreshadowing?!), I have next-to-no idea what direction this blog’s going to take until it actually gets there. But before I get into that adventure, let me back up a little bit.

Where in the world is Cameron? San Diego?

As you’re probably aware (or maybe not, there are no assumptions here), I recently was hired as a reporter for the Pacific Daily News, the largest newspaper on the tropical island of Guam. Guam, affectionately known as “Where?” by most Americans is a small island located about 2,500 miles east of the Philippines and is home to about 170,000 residents who, by virtue of Guam’s position as a territory, retain US citizenship. The island is also only 209 square miles in area (roughly the size of Austin, Texas) though it bears a striking resemblance to a very drunk Pictionary drawing of New Jersey.

Guam

It’s as if God saw what New Jersey was to become and thought “Let’s try this again, except thousands of miles away from the rest of the world.”

Now that I’ve given out a, if I may say so, very thorough and scholarly intro to Guam, I can get on to what’s important: myself. While I’m hoping to have a “Ten things I’ve learned about Guam” list that seems to be pretty much mandated for any “living abroad” blog, I’ll be the first to admit that I still have about nine things left to learn before getting that list together. And considering that the only thing I learned is that making a left turn coming out of the outlet mall instead of a right takes me away from my hotel rather than toward it, I doubt that’s very much use to those reading this blog who are not coming to visit me from the outlet mall. Though, it does make for a good story and will catch you up on my most recent adventure around Guam.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Hafa Adai, World!

  1. Marianne/Dickie Muehr says:

    You made me laugh! So glad you made it safe and sound and are finding your way. I didn’t doubt that you would, but it is reassuring to know it for sure. Don’t worry about your parents. I asked about you and they said, “Who?” A corrollary (either too many “rr” or “ll”) to “Where?”, don’t you think? (OK, too many ? marks already.) Looking forward to reading your byline. What’s the journalistic equivalent to “Break a leg”? Do that. Later, Marianne and Dickie Muehr

Leave a Reply

